Core Group

The WGNV Leadership consists of an elected Chair, and Co-Chairs from standing members IAVI and TuBerculosis Vaccine Initiative (TBVI). The Chair and Co-Chairs are responsible for leading, guiding and coordinating the Core Group, the WGNV, and any subgroups and task forces.

The WGNV Core Group guides the strategic direction and programs of the WGNV. It facilitates and accelerates decision making, identifies priority areas of work, and is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of the WGNV. The Core Group is constituency-based, representing the major stakeholder groups involved in TB vaccine research and development.

The Secretariat for the WGNV works in close collaboration with the Chair, Co-Chairs and core Group to develop and implement the WG strategy and work plans, facilitate effective communications, and manage and administer the WGNV and its programs.

Chair & Co-Chairs

David Lewinsohn
Oregon Health and Science University (USA)
Frank Verreck
TBVI (Netherlands)
Ann Ginsberg
International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (USA)

Core Group Members (by constituency)

Affected Communities: Vacant

Academic Institutions: Vacant

Clinical Trial Sites: Michele Tameris, South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (South Africa)

Funders: Willem Hanekom, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Public Sector: Katrin Eichelberg, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases/National Institutes of Health (USA)

Private Sector/Industry: Marie-Ange Demoitie, GSK Biologicals (Belgium)

World Health Organization: Johan Vekemans, Initiative for Vaccine Research (Switzerland)



Jennifer Woolley (USA)
The WGNV Secretariat is hosted by the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI)

Get Involved

If you would like to learn more about the WGNV and how you can be, please contact us!

Contact Us